Summery Burgers (y tacos accidentales)

Some time around February in New York, I got a little claustrophobic,  a little sick of the cold, and a little nostalgic for a grill and some personal space.

I figured I had the most control over the grilling aspect, so I tried mimicking a cilantro cream sauce I had at JoeDoe, threw together a carrot mango slaw I’d seen frequently at Westside Market, and then sauteed some teriyaki and mango infused burgers on the stovetop.  Not ideal, but paired with a few beers it was a nice wintry mix of summer color:

Siiiii, Aventura!

This probably looks way better than it was; I found both garnishes a little bland that night.  And at JoeDoe, you’d be dipping cheese curds in that cilantro sauce.  It’s only downhill from there.

A little disappointed in the burgers, something funny happened the next night when I channelled my inner taco truck.  Maybe there was less interference from a wheat bun, or maybe the flavors in the slaw and the cilantro sauce needed a night to bond; whatever it was, when I turned this stuff into tacos it got way tastier:

Much better

Due to the fact that I made this months ago with a hunch for a recipe, this will probably amount to the least helpful instructional toolkit of all time.  But you’ll at least find the building blocks for something colorful … 

 Ingredients (that I recall)

This was a basic look at what I had.  The cabbage only came into play during taco time.

Cilantro-yogurt sauce

  • Cilantro
  • Greek yogurt
  • Jalapeños
  • Cucumber
  • Salt and pepper

I think that’s pretty much what happened.  Put them in a  food processor, mix them up.  Someone should comment on what else should have gone into this.

Carrot mango slaw

  • Carrots
  • Mango
  • Cabbage
  • Sesame seeds
  • Sesame oil
  • Lime

Shred your carrots. I like mine finely shredded, so that they almost melt in your mouth.  Mix everything up in a bowl and you’re good, the more time this stuff has to sit, the better.

Mango-infused Teriyaki Burgers (y tacos!)

  • Ground beef
  • Teriyaki-ish sauce
  • Mango pit
  • Mango chunks
  • Whatever spices you have laying around

Not much value-add here

 

The mango-infused part is true the same way that water-infused Gatorade is true – it’s there, just not sure you can really taste it.  I mean, I did try – I rolled the ground beef around in the mango pit and added some leftover finely chopped mango pieces.  Every once in a while I guess I tasted something fruity in the beef patty.

This stuff really took off with tacos though – I think the flavor of the meat was a little more front and center in the tacos with just a heated corn tortilla around for distraction.

Green onion and mushroom topping

  • Green onions
  • Mushrooms
  • Butter

Sautee.  Use as topping for your burger or your tacos.  If you have some leftover put it in an omelette in the morning

Avocado

  • Always a good idea.
Leave a Reply

